Val Zimnicki
Director of Outreach

(312) 307-4415


November 1, 2017

View as PDF
PEKIN–Taxpayers United of America (TUA) today named Ill. State Rep. Michael D. Unes (R-91, Pekin) a “Taxpayer Traitor” for joining ten other Springfield Republican lawmakers in voting Yes to override Gov. Bruce Rauner’s veto of the huge, 32% Democrat-sponsored state personal income tax increase.
“Rep. Unes betrayed his constituents and all Illinois taxpayers when he became a turncoat and supported Chicago machine boss and Ill. House Speaker Michael J. Madigan (D-22, Chicago),” said Val Zimnicki, TUA Director of Outreach.
“Unes and his fellow Republican traitors made possible the largest permanent income tax hike in the state’s history, increasing the personal income tax rate to 4.95 percent from 3.75 percent, and the corporate income tax rate from 7.75 percent to 9.5 percent. Most of the $5 billion from this latest income tax increase will be funneled into the state’s floundering government-employee pension funds, just like previous tax increases.”
“Illinois is bankrupt. No state tax increase of any size can pull Illinois out of its financial death-spiral. In November 2018, taxpayers need to put on the statewide ballot a constitutional amendment to repeal the pension-protection clause of the Illinois State Constitution. The lavish, gold-plated pensions of retired government employees need to be drastically cut.”
“In the next Republican primary on March 20, 2018, taxpayers should run a tax-cut candidate against this Taxpayer Traitor and the other fellow traitors. These ne’er-do-wells have disgraced the conservative principles of their political party,” said Zimnicki.
“We will be distributing ‘Wanted’ flyers throughout Unes’ district, showing him behind bars, where he belongs, as well as giving him negative notoriety across the state. If Unes has any sense, he won’t run again. Illinois taxpayers need to dump tax-raising Republicans-in-name-only and elect true fiscal conservatives.”
“Seven of  the 11 Republican Taxpayer Traitors already have stated they will not run for reelection. We will not stop until all of these Republican tax-raising vermin are gone from the Ill. General Assembly.”