On Tuesday, April 5, you will have a RARE chance to vote into office three pro-taxpayer candidates who will look out for YOUR interests. These quality candidates are running for Park District Commissioners in Oak Park, and Tax Accountability, the political action arm of National Taxpayers United of Illinois, has endorsed them.
Please punch 44, 45, and 46 on April 5 for Diane Dunn, Thomas J. Finch, and Julie Grossman-MacCarthy. All have signed the “No Tax Increase Pledge” and also have pledged to work to lower property taxes in Oak Park.

Oak Park is the most highly-taxed community in the state of Illinois, and the most outrageous spending occurs at Oak Park’s bloated Park District. Dunn, Finch and Grossman-MacCarthy have lived in Oak Park for more than 20 years and have sent their kids through Oak Park and River Forest High School. They know what the city needs, and would have fresh, specific, innovative ideas as park district commissioners.
They are not insiders looking to benefit financially from their positions. They are smart and ethical, with strong professional backgrounds.
Diane Dunn is a retired fundraising associate at Northwestern Memorial Hospital Foundation. Tom Finch is a project manager in the software/hardware field. Julie Grossman-MacCarthy is marketing director for a non-for-profit company bringing arts programming into the Chicago public schools.
Our three endorsed candidates have pledged to reduce the property tax levy 50%, by selling the administrative buildings for commercial redevelopment, freezing all manager salaries and revising benefit packages, creating a ceiling of $65,000 on all management salaries except for the executive director, which would be capped at $100,000, and modifying the Master Plan to bring spending under control.
Please urge your friends, neighbors and relatives living in the park district to vote on April 5, and to punch 44, 45, and 46 for Diane Dunn, Thomas J. Finch, and Julie Grossman-MacCarthy. Your efforts will be rewarded by many hundreds of dollars! Thanks!
Jim Tobin, President
P.S. Polls are open from 6 am until 7 pm, Tuesday, April 5, 2011.
Click here to download a printable copy of this letter.